Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m just going to get straight to the point. I can be unbelievably undisciplined when it comes to reading my bible. Who would have thought that, huh? Lisa loves to read… so this is weird. Yes, I do love love love to read but I love to read page turners and things that are easier to follow and easier to remember. I don’t know if that makes any sense. But sometimes I feel like I don’t understand what I’m reading when I read the bible and it frustrates me so much and then I’m not motivated to read it. I’m sure I’m not the only one here… Or I read something and I am thinking about something else and I don’t realise I’m thinking about something else until I zone back in and find out that I hadn’t been concentrating on anything I just read. That is probably why Revelation is my favorite book in the bible because  it intrigues me the most I guess… Fear not! I found a solution. Or, the solution found me.

I am currently reading the Soul Survivor NIV Bible In a Year. Mike and Andy also upload daily videos to help us understand what we are reading which is very very helpful for me I must say. Now, I have failed many times and missed many days but I haven’t given up on it so we’re good! 🙂

I realise that the title of this blog post makes no sense as yet… It will guys, it will.
You may know that I watch youtubers like Zoe and Ingrid and Fleur. But I came across a youtuber called Cambria Joy and as well as her other videos she makes weekly bible studies too and they are SO good. They are like little 5-10 minute sermons but with so much thought-provoking stuff. There’s much encouragement, joy and inspiration in her videos. So I wanted to share one with you.

I noted down some of the things she said and verses she referred to in my journal.
For example, she said things like ‘Do whatever you’re doing for the Lord and you will find joy.’ and ‘If you’re scared about the future, God will accept you with open arms.’
She also refers to Mathew 6:21 where she challenges us to think about where our treasures lie. Because, we were made to worship something. Whether its money or relationships or attention. We, as human beings, crave something all the time and only God can fully satisfy it. The verse before that, (Mathew 6:20) says that our treasure is in heaven and God is our strength and our song. There is just so much I could write about this one video but I encourage you to watch them because they really are great, light hearted videos and you can really see that she means every single word she says.

On that note, I’m going to go and make some banana pancakes 😀 have a lovely, lovely day!

