Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday while cutting from magazines I came across an article called ‘Runaway Bride The 11-year-old Taking A Stand Against Child Marriage’. That immediately made me pause and read. Maria asked me what I was doing and I told her that I came across this article. She said she has heard about that and saw a short video with the girl recording a video and her escape. If your not like me and your up to date with all the world news I suspect you have heard about this but I hadn’t. I don’t watch the news or read newspapers.

This girl is 11 years old. She was about to be forced in to child marriage. Many would go with it because they don’t know what else to do but Nada new she couldn’t stand this and escaped to her uncle.
Some of her quotes were:

“My maternal aunt was 14 years old. She lasted one year with her husband and then poured gasoline over herself and set herself on fire. She died.”

“Go ahead and marry me off. I’ll kill myself, just like that. I’m better of dead. I’d rather die.”

Powerful stuff right? As well as trafficking, slavery and poverty this is also a big issue in the world. To be honest, I had never thought a lot about Child Marriage until now.
In Yemen over a quarter of girls under 15 are being forced in to marriage. Men 20 years older than them. This is a terrifying reality for those girls.
By the way she speaks you wouldn’t think she is 11 years old. Go and watch the video.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-J7_TKgw1To

images

Facts state
– The average age of marriage in Yemen’s rural areas is 12-13.
– Poor families marry off daughter to reduce the number of children they need to feed clothe and educate.
-An estimated 14.2 million girls a year worldwide will become child brides by 2020 is nothing changes!

Terrible!

